Wednesday, June 10, 2009


From "Music"

Music is one of the finest arts, a way of human expression.

There are several definition to Music. Music, is a emotional and scientific correlation of sound in space and time,is a painting drawn with invisible lines and colours of sound on the canvas of silence.The music is omnipresent. The waves of oceans,embrace of bamboo branches, vibration of atoms andheart beats.

Music can be broadly classified into Western, Carnatic and Hindustani. The pivotal concept of music is Ragha (Melody).

Ragha is indian contribution to world Musiology.

Thiagaraja swamigal,Muthuswami deekshithar and Shyama sashtri,known as the trinity of carnatic Music. They laid the foundation for thedevelopment of carnatic music with their innumerable compositions in hundreds of raghas.

Ragha are made of different combination of Saptha(seven) swaras.

1. Sa Sadjam
2. Ri Rishabam
3. Ga Gaandhaaram
4. Ma Madhyamam
5. Pa Panchamam
6. Dha Dhaivadam
7. Nhi Nhisadam

What makes Indian classical Music unique is its adherence to permutation and combination of swaras. In western classical Piano one actave consist of twelve notes whereas in Indian music the same actave contains 22 (srutis) notes.

The twenty two Srutis are:

Siddha, Prabhavati, Kantha, Suprabha, Sikha, Diptimati, Ughra, Hladi, Nirviri, Dira, Sarphara, Kshant, HridayonMulini, Visarini, Prasuna, Vibhuti, Malini, Chapala, Vala, Sarvarathna, Sitantaj, Vikalini. Sura is generally defined as the note whereas Sruti constitutes the mocrotonal intervals between two swaras. The nuances of these can be best understood in practise rather than theory.

Violin is widely accepted instrument in Indian classical music. The well known exponent of vioins are Dr N.Rajam, Prof T.N.Krishnan, Kunnakudi Vaidhyanathan, Lalgudi G.Jayaraman, M.S. Gopalakrishnan V.V.Subramanyam and Dr.L.Subramanyam

Shiek Chinna Maulana and Namagiripettai Krishnan are the most prominent Nagaswaram artist. ValayaPatti Shanmuga Sundaram Pillai is recognised as the Priest of Thavil.

No comments:

Post a Comment